52/52: Week 9. Ice

The recent snow and warm sun has created beautiful icicles.   I spent a half an hour Friday morning shooting the ones around our house.  This winter has been such a long one, across much of North America.  As I write this the maritimes are being hammered with yet another winter storm.  While the storms can and have been destructive they can also create incredible beauty.  I have spent a lot of time this winter photographing snow drifts and storms.  The icicles are no different, beauty but destructive.  After I had photographed them I knocked most of them off since I was scared of their weight pulling the eaves troughs down.

Ice on lilac seed pods

Ice on lilac seed pods

Image

Ice claws.

ImageImage

One of these days I do need to get those lights down.

Image

 

 

 

One thought on “52/52: Week 9. Ice

Leave a Reply

